Whirli: Coffee [for] Beans

Beans loves coffee. He has loved coffee as long as I can remember, sometimes going so far as to steal sips from my cup when I’m not looking. (Let’s just say it’s a very good thing I drink decaf.)

This morning, he asked for a drink of my coffee and, as usual, I said no, of course not.

I don’t have a good reason. I’m sure there is a reason a 4-year-old shouldn’t drink coffee – I just don’t know what it is. But I don’t let him have soft drinks (it’s rare he even gets KoolAid, poor deprived little guy), so why would I cave on coffee?

Quick, I told myself, make something up. I resorted to an old [unimaginative] standby.

“It’ll stunt your growth,” I told him. “If you drink coffee, you won’t get big and strong.”

Beans was not quitting.

“Do you want me to get big?” he queried.

Well …

“You said you didn’t want me to grow anymore. You said you wanted me to stay little.”

Yeah, but …

“Then why can’t I have coffee?”

Oooooh, he’s outsmarted me.

Fine. Just a sip. A tiny sip …

(Maybe I’ll get lucky and it really will slow down the growing for a while. I can hope.)

This entry was posted in Beans. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whirli: Coffee [for] Beans

  1. 6catz says:

    What is it with coffee? My kids love it too. which is strange because I can’t stand it. I do love the smell of it though!

  2. Moody Mom says:

    Don’t you hate it when you kids out smart you? Bear does not do coffee but always want a sip of my coke.

  3. grandma says:

    What can I say, Beans comes from a very good gene pool. He is an observer and a thinker. Will he outsmart his teacher?

Leave a Reply

