Whirli: Favorite books

Curling up in bed with a good book is one of my favorite things to do, and it’s long been part of the bedtime ritual around our house.
Sure, we read throughout the day, but our nighttime page-turning is somehow more special. Maybe it’s because we’re getting still, winding down from the day, we’re in our comfy pajamas, snuggled under the covers where the regular daytime noises can’t intrude. Or maybe it’s just because it’s the one time I know for sure we’ll be enjoying books together.
I started reading to Beans at bedtime when he was just a few days old, and now Tallulah cuddles up with us for stories at night, too.
When Beans was tiny, I read to him from whatever novel I was enjoying at the time. As he got older, he decided on many favorites – Goodnight Moon, The Hungry Caterpillar, If You Give A Mouse a Cookie, Danny and the Dinosaur, The Day Dinosaurs Came With Everything, Where the Wild Things Are (which is among the stories he memorized from start to finish), Sandra Boynton books and sooo many more.
He has adopted as his favorites more than a couple that I loved as a kid, like The Monster at the End of This Book, The Pokey Little Puppy, and Richard Scarry’s Best Storybook Ever, which I rushed out and bought a copy of before he was six months old. I still have my own copies of those, tattered from overuse but still treasured all these (many, many) years later, and I’ve shown them to him so he would know I loved them as much as he did. (He doesn’t believe I was ever a kid, but he has no doubt I have some old books.)
These days, we’re reading from The Complete Tales of Winnie the Pooh, a Peter Pan pop-up, random Scooby Doo mysteries and … well, anything starring a superhero.
We don’t always agree on what books to read at bedtime, but I generally leave the final selection up to Beans. The problem, most often, is that he wants to read the same books over and over and I like to shake things up. I guess for him, there’s comfort in familiarity, I figure that’s OK, because I’m betting that he, like me, will remember his mama reading the same books to him over and over.
Tallulah is still too small to voice her opinion about what books we read at bedtime, but she listens in on whatever her big brother chooses. She looks at the pictures and watches our faces as we read, usually drifting off before we finish the second book. I know it won’t be long before we find out what her literary tastes are, and I can’t wait.
I’m secretly hoping she’ll give me reason to re-read the Little House books … they’re among the countless books I’m eager to share with her and Beans. I’m looking forward to the day(s) they meet Ramona Quimby, Henry Huggins, Peter Hatcher, Fudge, Caddie Woodlawn, Pippi Longstocking and the Boxcar Children, too.
Beans has fairly well-stocked bookshelves, and we make regular trips to the library, but I’m always wondering what great books we’re missing out on.
So what are your favorite children’s books? What are your kids’ favorites? And what are you reading for your own enjoyment?

Arkie Mama wrote here about where she and her kids like to read. She would love to hear about your reading nooks, too!

This entry was posted in Beans, Tallulah. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whirli: Favorite books

  1. Cathy Frye says:

    MY favorite children’s book is When the Sky is Like Lace, by Elinor Lander Horwitz. The writing reminds me of that of L.M. Montgomery. I still have all of those childhood and teenage favorites — from Anne of Green Gables to Emily of New Moon to A Tangled Web.

    My kids also love anything by Richard Scarry. Like you, I still have some of the ones I grew up with. And, of course, some more recently purchased ones as well!

    At the moment, I’m reading High Crimes: The Fate of Everest in an Age of Greed. I don’t know why, but I love mountain-climbing books! I must have read Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air at least a dozen times.

  2. Heidi says:

    Right now, our clear favorites are Baby Bear (Baby Bear What do You See) and the rest of that series, anything Curious George and Scuffy the Red Painted Tugboat. Ava even insists on dragging books to bed with her!

  3. abailey says:

    Amos would read Richard Scarry’s Cars and Trucks and Things That Go over and over and over if we had the patience. My dad got it for us when Amos was tiny, and at first I didn’t really get it. But now Amos is totally smitten. That book is going to be my go-to gift for baby showers for little boys from now on.

  4. Moody Mom says:

    Scooby-Doo and Curious George for Bear. As far as me reading, I am not a big reader but I enjopy reading to my child every night.

Leave a Reply

