Whirli: What's for dinner?

Tonight we’re having chicken pot pie, made with two pie shells, some frozen mixed veggies, a can of cream of chicken soup and some chicken I cooked and chopped back in April.

As I mentioned in a recent post, I’m a big fan of buying in bulk and cooking ahead of time, and this is just one of the dishes that are made super simple because of it. It’s delish and sooooo easy.

In the family way shared a fantastic idea about pork in the comment section of that post (Thanks Heidi! I’m definitely going to borrow that idea!) and I would love to hear more.

She mentioned that she uses the crockpot, and I’m a huge fan of that handy little kitchen gadget, too.

One recipe I do over and over in the crockpot is kind of a chicken stew – I throw in veggies (usually carrots, potatoes, broccoli, corn and cauliflower, but I think just about any veggies would work), add some chicken breasts and a can of chicken soup or broth with whatever spices sound good on that particular day, and let it cook all day. We eat it over brown rice. Yum!

Also, www.nwamotherlode.com featured a website – http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/ – that offers a different crockpot recipe for every day of the year! I tried the chicken teriyaki and the Korean ribs and both were scrumptious.

So what’s everyone else eating? I’m always curious about what’s going on in your kitchen!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whirli: What's for dinner?

  1. kbenenati says:

    We’ve had a plethora of peppers, that my husband’s been blanching and freezing. I can’t wait to still have them this winter. We also freeze pesto sauce to use on chicken, mainly, year through the winter. No crock pot in our house, but we always have frozen beans and stock. They’re huge time savers. We don’t freeze meat ahead, but we do load up the grill to provide leftovers for quick meals later in the week. Boy can I ramble about food.

  2. Heidi says:

    I’m always curious about what other people are making for dinner too, so please people, chime in! I think we’re having leftovers tonight of chicken cooked on the smoker Saturday night, then brushed with sauce and grilled to finish it off, with pasta salad and grilled veggies. I think I could eat grilled veggies every day!

Leave a Reply

