Whirli: I knew it would happen …

One night last week, while everyone in our house was sleeping, someone broke in and hemmed all of Beans’ pants so that when he woke up and got dressed, all of his pants were about two inches too short.

What’s that? You think he just grew? Yeah, you’re probably right, but it’s almost easier on my mommy psyche to believe his pants are getting shorter instead.

Anyway, I went shopping that day, in the same part of the store where I usually find clothes to fit Beans … but this time, I discovered, I would have to cross the aisle from the little kids’ clothes and venture into the boys’ sizes to find anything that would work.

It was a small thing, I know, and it was something I always knew would happen – how could it not? But it was symbolic, and for a moment, I paused and thought about how I would miss the baby my boy used to be.

They really do grow up fast, don’t they?

This entry was posted in Beans and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whirli: I knew it would happen …

  1. Heidi says:

    That is a hard transition! I hated just going from infant clothes to toddler clothes!!

  2. Moody Mom says:

    Yes, they do grow up fast and it is very sad.

Leave a Reply

