Oh me, oh my

Why are so many children’s books filled with death and dismemberment?

I mean, really. “Humpty Dumpty.” “Little Red Riding Hood.” “The Three Little Pigs.” “The Old Lady Who Swallowed the Fly.”

Am I the only one who changes the words in those books when reading them aloud?

The “Old Lady Who Swallowed the Fly” line, “Perhaps she’ll die,” becomes “Oh me, oh my,” around our house. And “She’s dead of course,” (and who wouldn’t be after swallowing a horse?) becomes, “That’s all, of course.”

It’s not that I’ve shied away from talking to Beans about death. It’s a sad fact of life, and it’s hit us big time this year, with losses of two cats and a fish in just a few short months. I sought guidance from the mother of a friend – a mom who happens to be a child psychologist, no less – and I followed her suggestions to the letter. I hated every second of those discussions with my baby, knowing full well that my words would cause him pain as much as they would help him deal with life (and loss) in the future, but I went through with them just the same.

I know I can’t protect him forever. I’m just not sure those kinds of lessons have a place in storybooks.

I guess my deception will be discovered pretty soon though. Beans will learn to read at some point and the jig will be up. Maybe I’ll get some white-out …

This entry was posted in Beans and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh me, oh my

  1. Yavonda says:

    When Alaina had her last surgery, members of our church sent her a bear that says the “Now I lay me down to sleep” prayer. I was thrilled that the words had been changed to a happier version.
    The bear says “Now I lay me down to sleep. I pray the Lord my soul to keep. May angels watch me through the night and wake me in the morning light.”
    Far better than the original!

  2. kdishongh says:

    Amen to that, Yavonda!! : )

  3. Moody Mom says:

    Seems that way in Disney movies also.

Leave a Reply

