Princess or no princess

In November, I wrote this post about how Matt plans to ban princess memorabilia from our lives and why.

But today Tallulah, secure in my arms, lunged across an aisle at Target to see a bunch of doe-eyed, sparkly-dressed princess Barbie dolls. And a couple of weeks ago, she lunged across the aisle at Kohl’s to get her fingers on a princess-themed T-shirt.

I would just like to point out that I did not buy these things for her. But as I watched her eyes light up and heard her delighted babbles, I sooooo thought about it.

P.S. I’ve been slacking in the blog department, I know. I’ll get back into the swing of things as soon as I can – don’t give up on me, please. ; )

Beans is playing soccer and baseball this spring, and the two overlap by several weeks, which means that my days/nights/weekends/waking hours are consumed by practices and games and cleats and concession stand duty obligations (yet to be fulfilled … and I’m inexplicably anxious about that!) and oh-my-gosh-did-I-forget-to-wash-the-uniform and where-are-your shin-guards-and-cleats/glove/batting helmet/soccer ball moments in addition to my normal crazy keeping-up-with-life moments. My deadlines haven’t slowed (thank heavens!), so I’ve been just a little busy just trying to keep up with everything. (Whine, whine … wah! Really, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t enjoying this hectic time with my little athlete.)

This entry was posted in Beans, Matt, sports, Tallulah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Princess or no princess

  1. Heidi says:

    Hold off on the princess stuff as long as you can! Somehow it’s creeped into our house, and it’s nuts! But that’s fabulous Beans is so involved in his sports. Now you can really say you’re a soccer mom!

  2. Heidi says:

    Hold off on the princess stuff as long as you can! Somehow it’s creeped into our house, and it’s nuts! But that’s fabulous Beans is so involved in his sports. Now you’re a soccer mom!

  3. Heidi says:

    Whoops, sorry about that!

  4. kdishongh says:

    Good point, Heidi. I can see how it could multiply – and we’ve had enough multiplying with the cars and trucks and superheroes etc.
    I don’t think I make a very good soccer mom. lol

Leave a Reply

