Neighborhood watching

A while back, I shared my thoughts about nursing in public here.

This morning, I dragged T out of bed at dawn, changed her diaper and strapped her in her car seat for the mad dash to kindergarten drop-off. By the time we walked back to the car after leaving Beans, she was starving. I needed to run some quick errands before we headed home, and I didn’t want her to 1) be ravenous and uncomfortable or 2) be screamy as checked things off our to-do list, so to tide her over, I decided to nurse her IN THE PRIVACY OF MY OWN CAR.

I understand the necessity of neighborhood watch organizations and all. But as for the man who felt it necessary to walk his dog right up to my window and crane his neck to get a good look at me and whatever “mischief” I might be up to, I’m pretty sure he will think twice about “watching” all the goings-on in cars so up-close-and-personal from now on.

To that man: You annoyed me, but I forgive you. I hope you don’t expect an apology from me, though, because none is forthcoming.

This entry was posted in breastfeeding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neighborhood watching

  1. Yavonda says:

    You probably made his day!

  2. Heidi says:

    People are so strange! I can’t tell you how many times I nursed in Ava my car (or other places), but I never had any trouble with anyone peeking. This next time I bet I won’t be so inconspicuous!

Leave a Reply

