The ick factor

I’m sure by now you’ve heard all the hubbub about Lady Gaga and her meaty fashion statement. There have been all sorts of debates about whether it was a hit or miss, and she has had ample opportunity to share with the world her reason for wearing it to MTV’s Video Music Awards, which doesn’t really ring true with me, but if that’s what she wants to wear and why she wants to wear it, well, c’est la vie.

But, OMG, am I glad I wasn’t there.

I think I might have had to run out for hand sanitizer and bleach wipes to quell my fears of E-coli or other deadly infestations – real or imagined. I’m guessing there was no real danger; if there had been a massive food-borne illness outbreak after the awards, surely we would have heard about it by now.

Maybe it’s just me. I’m sure it’s just me. None of the stories about the dress have expressed concerns over cross-dress-contamination, so it’s got to be my issue and mine alone.

I follow through with my urge to sanitize everything within the vicinity with even the raw meat that goes from my refrigerator or freezer into my oven. I’m convinced that someday I’ll miss a spot of meat juice on a kitchen counter and make my whole family sick, so I’m extra careful with meal preparation.

Hugging Lady Gaga and her raw meat ensemble might have sent me over the edge! (Ewww, and what about all the places she sat in her “dress” and all the things she touched after straightening her outfit and … Oh, sorry, have to go wash my hands after just thinking about this.)

OCD about meat germs, anyone?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The ick factor

  1. Yavonda says:

    Eww and eww. I HATE touching raw meat. I sure as heck don’t want to wear it. EWW.

  2. Heidi says:

    Totally gross. Clorox, please!

  3. kbenenati says:

    I’ve been saying this all week. I hate watching cooking shows when they touch meat and then wipe their hands on a towel. YUCK.

Leave a Reply

