My kids make me laugh

Tallulah is a patter. She puts her head on my shoulder and pats me on the back when I’m rocking her to sleep. She puts her head on my shoulder and pats me on the back when I pick her up because she’s gotten hurt (emotionally or physically). She pats me on the back when she moves past me on her way to some prized possession. She loves to pat, and I assume that’s because I pat her on the back so often.

Lately she’s started patting other people on the back. Today, she and Beans were coloring at the coffee table and she suddenly got the urge to pat him on the back. At first, he was annoyed and he complained that she was “hitting” him. I told him she was doing that to show him she loved him. But her pats got harder and harder, and I wondered at her motive, but I bit my lip to keep from laughing at my mischievous girl.

But without missing a beat, Beans patiently turned to his sister and said, “Could you not love me so much? That kind of hurts.”

Ha!

This entry was posted in Beans, Siblings, Tallulah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My kids make me laugh

  1. Yavonda says:

    Alaina is a pounder. She likes the sound her hand makes when she “pats” so she’s beating on us all the time.

  2. kdishongh says:

    Lol, Yavonda. That’s pretty funny. T isn’t so much interested in the sound – she’s very gentle when she pats. I didn’t even notice it until my dad pointed it out several months ago. This little show of tenderness from her is even more special since she’s such a rough-and-tumble kid most of the time. I think this one was just a joke on her brother. You should have seen her sly grin when she was doing it. : )

Leave a Reply

