Time travel

I haven’t watched a lot of movies in the last, oh … five years or so. When my kids are occupied (which usually means they’re sleeping), I work. Honestly, I feel guilty even taking a few minutes to paint my toenails because even if I happen to be as caught up on current assignments as I can possibly be, I feel like I should be looking for more work or making time to send invoices, which are quite possibly my least-favorite-most-hated parts of this whole freelance situation.

Anyhow, all that is to explain how rare it was for me to hit the Red Box last week and bring home a copy of Time Traveler’s Wife. I had been sick pretty much all week with one ailment or another and I was feeling pretty drained by life in general, so I decided to indulge in laziness. Just for a day. And I did feel horribly guilty about it – still do, sort of, but I also felt a little better for doing it.

Even if you haven’t seen the movie or read the book, I don’t think I’ll spoil anything by telling you that it’s about a guy who travels through time – backward and forward – and that he sometimes runs into himself. He apparently hasn’t found a way to stop any big tragedies from happening, but he can surely share advice with his past/future self, and that got me to thinking …

If I could travel back in time, what would I tell my younger self? There are so many bits of wisdom I wish I could share to make life more worthwhile.

How about this for starters? Stop spending so much time getting ready to leave the house. Just get ready and go, already! I don’t know what I did that took so long back in the day, but, Lordy, I must have missed out on a lot of fun because of it. Lately, I can make it from the shower to the door in well under 30 minutes if I need to. Did I look better back then? Well, yeah, probably – but then I was eons younger, too, and surely that plays a part. I just think I could have streamlined the process and found better ways to spend the chunks of time I wasted on stuff that didn’t really matter. Maybe I should have suggested that my younger self shave the crazy getting-ready routine in half (most of it was probably procrastination, anyway) and spend that leftover time watching movies or reading books because my future self surely wouldn’t have that kind of luxurious time.

What would you tell your past self? What would you want to know if you could talk to your future self?

This entry was posted in the rest, work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time travel

  1. Moody Mom says:

    If I could go back in the past I would give myself all the winning lotto numbers. HA!
    I also would want to tell myself to “Stop and smell the Roses”
    I saw that movie, great chick flick!

  2. Yavonda says:

    I would tell myself to slow down and enjoy life more. I would also have told myself that Matt and I should have done a little more traveling before baby. 🙂

Leave a Reply

