Shiny shoes

First, stop by Moody Mom’s blog and leave a comment by Monday, Dec. 13, to enter the Freebie Friday contest to win three perfectly adorable salt-dough ornaments!

Now … See this?

Dear Santa, All I want for Christmas is a pair of shiny shoes. Please?

Back in October, I was in Target looking for a pair of black shoes that Tallulah could wear with her Halloween costume.

It was on that day that we had our first clash on matters of apparel. I wanted her to have the pair of black shoes that had a relatively flexible sole. She wanted the pair that had the shine.

Tallulah gets impatient in stores sometimes. Sometimes she wants to look at the things she sees on the shelf and she gets indignant when she doesn’t get that chance. But she rarely throws outright fits. On this particular day, my dear sweet Tallulah felt so strongly about that pair of shiny black shoes that she collapsed in a sobbing heap on the (I’m-certain-it-was-pristine) floor of the Target shoe department.

I sat on the floor next to her, trying to stifle my urge to laugh at the situation (it is quite funny if you think about it) and managing to merely smile and shrug at other customers who stared at what was transpiring with my tiny girl.

When the worst of her fit was over, I picked her up, grabbed the pair of shoes I thought would be most comfortable for her – the ones with the softer sole – and headed for the check out.

Fast forward a couple of weeks …
On a Sunday morning as I sat with the paper pulled apart around me, Tallulah snatched the Target sale circular from my pile and studied something on one of the pages. I looked over, wondering what had her so transfixed. And there were the shoes.

Tallulah carried this page around with her for days. I hope Santa got the message.

This entry was posted in Tallulah. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shiny shoes

  1. Yavonda says:

    Aww, that is so sad — and a little bit funny. I think you have a budding fashionista on your hands!!

Leave a Reply

