Falsely accused

Tallulah spoke her first full sentence several weeks before Christmas: “I fall down.”

She didn’t make a regular habit of stringing together a bunch of words after that, though, only gracing us with those complete thoughts here and there – when we would least expect them.

Fast forward to last week, when I was cleaning the kitchen while she finished her lunch. I looked over and noticed she had made a huge mess with her food and I said something like, “Who spilled all that stuff on your tray?”

I was, of course, being facetious.

She, on the other hand, was completely stone-faced serious when she looked me in the eye and said, “Beans did it.”

Beans was at school and had been at school for hours. Poor Beans. He’s in for a lot more of that, I’m pretty sure.

This entry was posted in Beans, Siblings, Tallulah. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Falsely accused

  1. Brian Knight says:

    I used to think Josh and Emma were serious when they did stuff like that, but, they weren’t. They were only kidding around. Don’t sweat it. It will get funnier, look who you’re married to, he has a great sense of humor, always has. I should know.

  2. kdishongh says:

    Thanks Brian! I’m pretty sure she was serious – but it really cracked me up. ; )

  3. Heidi says:

    Hilarious!

  4. austin says:

    You’re probably not supposed to laugh when kids lie so blatantly, but you’re right, it’s always hilarious. And really, what’s the harm? I don’t even try to keep a straight face anymore. I think it signifies that higher thinking skills are developing.

Leave a Reply

