Stop

Over the weekend, I raced around trying to conquer my to-do list. I was a tad overwhelmed by an agenda that included all the usual stuff, plus a couple of writing deadlines, a science fair project and two baseball games.

Friday night, a storm blew in and – kablooey – the lights went out.

“That scare me!” Tallulah shrieked. Beans started clamoring for a flashlight. Me? I stopped everything.

Initially, my head swam because I knew that my productivity was dashed. I mean, my laptop still had a decent charge so I suppose in a perfect world I might have written a few paragraphs … but this was definitely not a perfect world. There was no way I was getting anything done.

But then I realized I had every excuse to abandon all plans and sit on the couch snuggling with the little people, a book and a couple of flashlights between us.

Of course, Tallulah wasn’t half as interested in what we were reading as she was in the “fire” burning on the mantle – we haven’t lit many candles since she joined our world, and the one illuminating our living room was the source of obvious fascination. (And I have to insert here that there was a also tiny bit of extra light coming from Matt’s iPhone screen – further evidence he might be a little addicted to the phone he swore he’d never have. Love it!!)

Under other circumstances, severe weather would have warranted lending a nervous ear to a radio and making sure everything was in place in case we needed to cram our four selves into a tiny bathroom under the stairs. But in this case, the rain had all but stopped by the time our power went out. It was nice to just have an honest-to-goodness excuse to stop and hang out with the family.

I reveled in the warm feelings of togetherness right up to the moment when it looked like Tallulah might clobber Beans with a big metal flashlight because he got too close to her green flashing-bus-keychain (the one we got at the Earth Day Festival last month) … then I decided it would be better to go upstairs and put everyone to bed.

It was dark, after all.

This entry was posted in Beans, sports, Tallulah, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

